When QVC are trying to sell me housewife stuff (like duvet covers or steam cleaners – boring!) and JewelleryMaker’s Lucy is having a day off I look to see whats happening in the real world and watch a bit of Sky News. At the moment they are showing Conrad Murray’s trial live coverage which is interesting but I can only watch it for a limited period at a time because it frustrates the hell out of me.

As I understand it, there are some facts to the case that are undisputed: Micheal Jackson was and still is very very famous. He is dead. He died from an overdose of drugs. Dr Conrad Murray provided him with some drugs.

From what I’ve watched, Dr Conrad Murray was in awe of Micheal Jackson – and lets face it, who wouldn’t be. If you could say “I look after Micheal Jackson”, you’d want to be able to carry on saying it. (In a similar way that people use to buy George Best drinks in pubs, even though it was public knowledge that he was an alcoholic with liver failure).

Now remember that my whole family are doctors, including my mum, dad, brother, uncle, grandfather and grandmother. That’s just my immediate family. On my grandfather’s family side it was a running joke that you could only either be a doctor or an accountant. I speak with some personal experience and therefore I’m allowed to diss them!

The trouble with doctors is that part of their training is to make them think they are Gods. They have to believe they can change nature in order to be able to “heal the sick”. And, from what I understand from my medical TV drama programmes (eg Greys Anatomy), it is considered a failure if they do not know the answer to a question or get the answer wrong. So they learn to pretend to know the answer or bluff their way out of a tricky question. Society of course encourages this position – you go to the doctor to be “cured” and will do whatever they suggest.

In my course this week we were talking about vicarious liability – that is that the employer is ultimately responsible for the actions of their employees. The aim of this to ensure that employers don’t “turn a blind eye” to wrongful acts such as harassment, health and safety violations etc, because if they do, there is a potential for a hefty compensation/tribunal payout. Which got me thinking – who employs the doctors?

In the UK, I suppose you could argue that it’s the NHS trust. While the good thing about blogging you’re not constrained by pesky things like “truth” and “facts” and “referencing” (wash your mouth out!), but I would like to think anyone can read this without being offended and one day Id quite like to work for the NHS. So I’ll leave my thoughts on that one in my head for now.

I’ll move swiftly onto the US. Who employs the privately contracted doctors in the US? Who is ultimately responsible for their actions? The actions between Micheal Jackson and Conrad Murray that are being discussed in the courtroom – who agreed that was OK? Except for a drug-addict looking for his next fix and an awestruck doctor thinking he was God.

Who was responsible for stopping God from administering an extremely powerful drug without proper knowledge of it or proper equipment? In my humble (reluctant) housewife opinion – its them who should be on trial and not Conrad Murray.

Micheal Jackson’s tale is a sad one. But at the end of the day, he’s dead and whatever the trial outcome, no one will realistically employ Dr Murray again – history will record him as Micheal Jackson’s killer. In this economic climate, why pay the lawyers (who most likely don’t understand the terms they are arguing and are looking for their own notoriety) anymore money? Instead can’t we learn some long-term lessons to ensure this doesn’t happen again – to less public figures? We need to ask: Who’s watching God?

